Carburettors

The 3 1/2 forum
Stubaker58

Carburettors

Post by Stubaker58 »

I’m looking for some help! I’m new to Morinis having bought my 1979 31/2 last year. It had been standing for some time, maybe twenty years, but is a low mileage example (23234Km). I’ve had to do various bits and pieces and it’s now road worthy and I’ve really enjoyed a couple of 50 mile rideouts.
The issue now is carburation. I’ve had both carbs apart, cleaned them up in a small ultrasonic bath and rebuilt them. I even got both slides the correct way round the second time! It’s an easy starter, no really, and idles at just below 2000rpm. I’ve had an initial go at balancing the carbs with a Carbtune and they seem ok. BUT at low revs and especially pulling away from rest it hesitates and needs a good blip, it certainly isn’t smooth. I’ve also noticed that when starting the enrichment lever on the left carb (front) has no effect, the right (rear) lever gives a big increase in revs. When cold there is also sometimes a puff of smoke from the front cylinder if the throttle is blipped. I haven’t changed the carb settings, when I cleaned the carbs there was some external corrosion on the emulsion tubes but the holes all cleaned up ok. The needles were shot so I replaced them (but not the jets, mistake?).
So what should I now be looking at? I don’t want the bike off the road for too long so I’d like to have the bits ready before I start.
Thanks.
George 350

Re: Carburettors

Post by George 350 »

Worth removing the choke plunger and checking that the 'rubber' pad is still on the business end. Not unknown for these to go awol. The black circle on the end in the pic attached is the bit I'm referring to.
If it is still in place, is it still soft or set like rock? If not there, your bike will have the choke on all the time on that cylinder.
choke plunger.jpg
choke plunger.jpg (74.92 KiB) Viewed 11001 times