Basic Info about Morini 500 Please?

Maestro, SEI-V
JonnyP

Basic Info about Morini 500 Please?

Post by JonnyP »

Hello all, I'm new to the Morini Rider's Club and new to this forum (I live in North West UK). I've just bought a 1979 Morini 500 (photo), fairly rough but largely complete. I intend to restore this to 'Maestro' spec- I always wanted one back in the day- 40 years later, here we are! I briefly owned a 3 1/2 Sport around 15 years ago, so I do have some limited Morini experience. I've owned motorcycles on and off for most of this time, doing as much of my own work as possible. I have many questions, and would be most grateful if anyone could help me out here to start with: What model of Morini have I bought? I've been reading up, and I'm not sure whether there was ever a choice of '500 Sport' and' 500 Strada' officially sold in the UK. Mine obviously looks like a Strada, but what is its exact model designation? 500S perhaps? Also, please can anyone recommend which battery I should buy? Many thanks for any responses!
Attachments
20210301_142856.1.jpg
20210301_142856.1.jpg (249.52 KiB) Viewed 3153 times
Steve Brown

Re: Basic Info about Morini 500 Please?

Post by Steve Brown »

Ahh! just seen you on FB! I still think it's a 500W. If you look at the frame number it will tell you there. For the battery most folk use a PC680 I think, from Motobatt. If you do a search of the forum you'll find lots of posts about that and how to make the starter motor better.
Hope you enjoy it and welcome to the club!
All donations to the rest home for old Camels, Leicestershire.
3potjohn

Post by 3potjohn »

Another battery choice would be a Xtreme 600, about 2/3 the price of a PC680. I used to use the Odyssey on my bikes but have used the Xtreme since discovering the price difference. Does it have a starter motor fitted , could not see the cable.?
Good starter motor rebuild info on Youtube (Paul Compton)