Fuel taps??

Maestro, SEI-V
Baffled

Fuel taps??

Post by Baffled »

Hello, All. I'm fascinated reading these different threads and posts. I am new to Morini ownership (like 2 weeks!) so just feeling my way. My bike is a 1982 500 Strada. I interested by the references in the forum to the fuels taps, both reserve and electrical. I have not yet figured out why there are two sets of taps and how they interact (no manual, you see). Do the manual taps override the electrical one, or is it vice versa? What is the point about having both sorts anyway? Can anybody enlighten me, please? Regards, Baffled.
hendre

Re: Fuel taps??

Post by hendre »

the electric one is always on when the iginition is on, the manual is kind of a reserve option or... if you want to ride full throttle you can open both so there will be enough fuel to fill the carbs :mrgreen:
Many Morini drivers replace the electric one by a manual as the electrics restrict the fuel flow when getting older
John Bunting

Post by John Bunting »

hendre wrote:the electric one is always on when the iginition is on, the manual is kind of a reserve option or... if you want to ride full throttle you can open both so there will be enough fuel to fill the carbs :mrgreen:
Many Morini drivers replace the electric one by a manual as the electrics restrict the fuel flow when getting older
Is that the bike or the rider getting older?
Why Morini fitted an electric tap is very strange it serve no purpose when you also have a manual one and is restrictive.
EVguru

Post by EVguru »

Yes, what is the point of fitting any kind of automatic fuel tap?

After all owners ALWAYS shut the fuel off and don't flood the floor of their garage with fuel and contaminate their oil. Most bikes these days have vacuum operated fuel taps with a manual reserve position.

I really don't think we can complain that the diaphram in the electric tap is not as flexible as it used to be after 30 years and won't always flow enough fuel for high speed running.